Portfolio > Composers > Yana Shliabanska

Photo: Tomas Terekas 

Yana Shliabanska

Composer and sound artist, author of the chamber, orchestral music, interactive sound installations, music for theater and performances, and electroacoustic music, which has been performed in Ukraine, Austria, the Czech Republic, France, Germany, Italy, Lithuania, the Netherlands, Norway, Poland, Portugal, Germany, Spain, and the USA. Graduated from the National Academy of Music in Kyiv (Faculty of Composition).

Selected works

Mill: the conversion of energy for 16 strings (2017) 

Performed by the National Ensemble of Soloists Kyiv Camerata 

Kyiv, 2018


Almost Real Directions (2018)

Performed by Andy Didorenko (violin), Yuliya Basis (piano), Valeriya Sholokhova (cello), Gleb Kanasevich (clarinet), and Tristan Kasten-Krause (bass)

5 March 2021, New York Ukrainian Contemporary Music Festival, Ukrainian Museum of New York


VERBOVA (2018)

Yana Shliabanska (sound and idea), Tetiana Khoroshun (sound and idea), Liuba Plavska (visual), Ostap Kostiuk (electronics and technology)

April 2018, EM-VISIA electroacoustic music and media art festival, Plivka (Dovzhenko Center), Kyiv


The Tribe (2019)

Music for a dance performance choreographed by Katharina Ludwig (Germany) 

Dancers: Danica Golić, Inna Matushina, Kristina Slobodianiuk, Sebastian Wiertelak, Dima Dihtyar September 2019, Artil Minifest 2019, an intercultural project between Ukraine, Poland and Austria 


MOTION[LESS] (2020) 

Performed by Yana Shliabanska (electronics) in collaboration with the Berlin-based VJ Federico Garcia Alvarez

November 2020, a:part Berlin-Poltava project, Studio dB, Berlin / JUMP Contemporary Art Center, Poltava


Way to… (2021)

Music for the multimedia site-specific spectacle of Vlad Troitskyi

Performed by Olena Pinkovska (vocals), Anna Okhrimchuk (vocals), Andriy Koshman (vocals), Ruslan Kirsh (vocals), Zhanna Marchynska (cello). Ballet: Totem dance theater, choreographer: Krystyna Shyshkariova 

24 August 2021, Ukrainian House, Kyiv 


OUT[come] (2021)

Commissioned and performed by Vertixe Sonora ensemble: Pilar Fontalba (oboe), Alfonso Noriega (viola), Guilherme Lapa (bass guitar)

29 October 2021, MARCO Museum of Contemporary Art, Vigo, Spain


GRAIN (2022)

Commissioned by Post Muzica, Romania

Yana Shliabanska (electronics)

25 October 2022, live stream on Rezidenta 9 platform


Funded by the Stabilisation Fund for Culture and Education of the German Federal Foreign Office and the Goethe-Institut. goethe.de

Project team: Les Vynogradov, Albert Saprykin, Mariia Tytova, Polina Horodyska, Daria Vdovina, Dmytro Babenko, Olha Sauh