Portfolio > Composers > Olexij Vojtenko

Photo provided by Olexij Vojtenko

Social networks:





Olexij Vojtenko

Olexij Vojtenko (also spelled Alex Voytenko) is a composer, musicologist, and senior lecturer at the music theory department of the National Music Academy of Ukraine, Kyiv. 

Vojtenko is primarily an autodidact. From 1998–2002, he studied at the department of computing techniques of the Kyiv Polytechnic Institute and graduated with a Bachelor’s degree. He continued his studies from 2002–2007 at the National Music Academy of Ukraine, the composition class of Professor Yuri Ishchenko, where he earned a Master’s degree. From 2007–2010, he was a Ph.D. student at the music theory department of the National Music Academy (supervisor—Professor Bogdan Syuta) and defended his thesis in 2012. 

Vojtenko’s main scholarly interests are the ontology of music, history of music theory, theory of orchestration, theory of serial composition, history of the “Kyiv avant-garde” group, Volodymyr Zahortsev’s (1944–2010) oeuvre, Nikolai Myaskovsky’s (1881–1950) work.

In 2021, he published a book In Memoriam. Композитор Володимир Загорцев. Статті, листи, спогади. Матеріали до біографії [“In Memoriam. Composer Volodymyr Zahortsev. Articles, letters, memories. Materials for biography”].

Olexij Vojtenko’s major composition is his Book for 4 strings The Music of Erich Zann (2004–2018) after Howard Phillips Lovecraft’s short story.

Selected works

Sonata for violin solo, №7 (2009) from Book for 4 strings The Music of Erich Zann (2004–2018) after Howard Phillips Lovecraft’s short story.

Performed by Orest Smovzh

11 March 2010, National Music Academy of Ukraine, Kyiv


The possibility of an Island for piano and strings (2011)

Performed by Batumi State orchestra, conductor: George Shekiladze, piano: Nino Jvania

May 2014, Batumi first international festival of 21 century music, Batumi, Georgia


Tempus Fugit for piano and orchestra (2007, rev. 2013)

Performed by Academic Symphony Orchestra of the National Philharmonic of Ukraine, conductor: Vitalii Protasov, piano: Oleh Bezborodko

4 October 2013, National Philarmonic of Ukraine, Kyiv


GZI for chamber ensemble (2009)

Performed by ensemble Ricochet, conductor: Victoria Ratsiuk

April 2010, Kyiv


Sinthome (2018)

Short movie by Renan Braga (Cuba). Music by Olexij Voytenko

The Music of Erich Zann for double bass solo, performed by A. Zhukov


Epitaph in memoriam Volodymyr Zahortsev (2014)

Performed by Yevhen Gromov

29 October 2019, Concert of piano music by B. Bartok and V. Zahortsev, Lysenko Column Hall of the National Philharmonic of Ukraine, Kyiv


Nóμoς for 12 strings (2005/2018)

Performed by Collegium Musicum Orchestra, conductor: Ivan Ostapovych

18 December 2020, Lviv Organ Hall


Sonata for double bass solo (2010, rev. 2017)

№2 from Book for 4 strings The Music of Erich Zann (2004–2018) after Howard Phillips Lovecraft’s short story

Performed by Nazar Stets


Things off Themselves for harpsichord solo (2011, rev. 2017)

Dedicated to Natalia Sikorska

Performed by Natalia Sikorska

January 2018, Lviv Organ Hall


Epitaph for double bass and piano (2003/2021)

Double bass: Nazar Stets, piano: Tetiana Homon


Lento for piano and orchestra (2012)

Dedicated to Mateusz Skutnik

Performed by National Ensemble of soloists Kyiv Camerata, conductor: Valerii Matiukhin

26 March 2013, Hall of the National Union of Composers of Ukraine, Kyiv



2014 Recipient of Levko Revutskyi Prize of the Ministry of Culture of Ukraine

2006 Diploma of Composers competition in memory of Dmitri Shostakovich, Saint Petersburg, Russia

2004 World Wagner Society stipendium

Funded by the Stabilisation Fund for Culture and Education of the German Federal Foreign Office and the Goethe-Institut. goethe.de

Project team: Les Vynogradov, Albert Saprykin, Mariia Tytova, Polina Horodyska, Daria Vdovina, Dmytro Babenko, Olha Sauh